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GENERAL  
APPEAL PROCEDURES 

 
 

Once a final judgment, or other appealable order or decree has been entered by a circuit 
court, either party to a case, plaintiff, or defendant, may seek appellate review of such 
judgment, decree or order.  The two tribunals which have appellate jurisdiction to review 
final judgments are the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals. 
 
Perfecting an appeal refers to the legal process by which an appeal is taken to a higher 
court.   The procedures relating to appeals to the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals are 
set out in the Rules of the Supreme Court Volume 11 Parts 5 & 5A.  
 
Notice of Appeal must be filed in writing in the Clerk's office within thirty (30) calendar 
days of the entry date of a final judgment or other appealable order.  The Notice of Appeal 
must reflect the date of the Order being appealed and to which Court (Court of Appeals or 
Supreme Court) the case is being appealed. 
 
 

 
FILING FEES: 

 
Filing fee must be submitted at the time of filing of the “Notice of Appeal” in all civil cases. 
 

 $32.00 filing fee   -    Civil cases 
 $    .00 filing fee  -    Criminal cases 

 
The Court will accept cash, certified check or a money order, made payable to: 
 

    Clerk of the Circuit Court 
    4110 Chain Bridge Road 
    Fairfax, VA 22030 
 
    Attn:  Court of Appeals Processing Clerk  
     Or 
                       Attn:  Supreme Court Appeals Processing Clerk 
 

 

NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED 
 
 
REFERENCE: 

 
 Code of Virginia: 

 Section 8.01-670     
 Section 17.1-405  -  17.1-408 
 Rules of the Supreme Court Volume 11 Parts 5 & 5A 
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Once a Notice of Appeal is filed, the Circuit Court clerk is responsible for preparing the 
record on appeal and transmitting it to the designated Appellate Court within 90 days. 
 
Filing an appeal to the Court of Appeals or the Supreme Court, does not mean that you 
automatically get a new trial.  The appellate court will determine if judicial error was made in 
the case. The final decision at the Appellate level in a case is called a “Mandate”.  The 
mandate may affirm or reverse the ruling of the trial court, or it may dismiss the appeal.  If 
an appeal ends in reversal of the trial court’s decision and remands the case for a new trial, 
the matter is returned to this court to set the matter on the docket for a new trial. 
 
Appeals should contain all information required by the Rules of the Supreme Court (Code 
of Virginia, Volume 11 Code), comply with the statutory requirements and include to which 
court the case is being appealed (Supreme Court-Code Section 8.01-670 or Court of 
Appeals-Code Section 17.1-405 – 17.1-408). 
 
It is the parties’ responsibility to ensure that any transcripts or statement of facts are filed 
within the established time frames and that notices of such are sent. 
 
The Court has guidelines for appeals to the Court of Appeals and Supreme Court on our 
website at:  

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/appeal_procedures.htm 
 

           SEE: 
 Court of Appeals - Civil Guideline      CCR-A-15b 
 Court of Appeals - Criminal Guideline    CCR B-115 
 Supreme Court   -  Civil Guideline      CCR-A-15c 

 
 

Some of the procedures are jurisdictional and require strict compliance.  Please refer to the 
Rules of the Supreme Court Volume 11 for more complete information pertaining to 
appeals, along with the deadlines and fees associated with appeals. 
 
The Clerk's office staff is prohibited by law to give out any legal advice or to advise how to 
proceed on an appeal. 
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